RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Total Newb here with a total newb question, if it please the court ;)

My 3 month old pup has days when he wants to chase a bumper and days when he really doesn't regardless of his mood, how long he's been confined prior, etc. I know a few people like that, too :) So, I'm guessing it's just that. Extensive reading on the RTF has convinced me to chill and not get too worried about it as it seems most of us newbies are prone to do.

So, here's the question: what happens when I get him interested, tease him, toss the bumper a short distance and... he just stares at the fall and back at me and goes off and does his own thing? Do I try again? Put the bumpers away for the day and try again tomorrow? Get more creative about getting him in to it? Try again later that day? Try again in a different context or location?

Today, I threw a pheasant wing a few feet after he dissed the bumper and he liked that.

·
Registered
7,257 Posts
A real shot in the dark. It sounds like he may be bored with it all. How many retrieves do you do in a session? Should be just a very few, say three.

A suggestion, put him up for a few days and don't do any retrieves. Then try just three, wait a few days before any more.

Also, try to do it where there are no other distractions. Like in a hallway in the house or a narrow strip between the house and a board fence.

Some dogs just mature slowly and he may be one. Try to get him really hyped up before you toss a bumper. Tape a bird wing to the dummy.

These are just wild guesses without knowing any more information or seeing the dog.

·
Registered
1,287 Posts
Total Newb here with a total newb question, if it please the court ;)

Today, I threw a pheasant wing a few feet after he dissed the bumper and he liked that.
The prosecution would like to cross-examine your honor..