RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
256 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to this idea but am planning to build a probably 15 x 40 swimby pond. I live in louisiana and the lot I where I will be building is sandy content. Is there some way I can dig down to take a soil sample or pay someone to do it. Someone told me it had to have clay bottom. I know there is some clay on my lot because I have hit some digging fence poles. If not I supposse I would have to have some clay dirt trucked in... Also when I was digging at around 4 foot, the hole started to fill up with water. Would this mean that the water table is fairly shallow and there is potential for it to stay filled on its own??

How deep should I have them dig it?? Someone mentioned dig deep enough to prevent algae...?

How high should the banks be and what do I have to do to them to prevent silt runoff into the pond / erosion??

Also someone some where mentioned drilling a well to keep it filled in the summer, I think this is an excellent idea but what should I consider with this.

I know this is a dumb question but for the well, would I have to have elec / pumphouse?? or could it just be capped and free flow when needed.

The last thing I need is a mosquito breeding grounds / cotton mouth attractor...

What do I need for overflow...?

Just have a bunch of questions, anyone with experience pls chime in, thanks to all in advance..

·
Registered
1,596 Posts
Contact a Geo Technal engineer. It will cost you money, but he can answer all your quetions after a test. There is a type of clay that you can buy in balls and line it with, that swells up to several times its size, just cant think of the name right now
Here it usually cost around $2500 for Geo survey

·
Registered
59 Posts