RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
567 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am on the waiting list for a field bred golden litter due in two days, ready to go home mid August. The dog will be a friend, hunting companion, and possibly compete in some hunt tests. I have done some research on different training programs, and I think I will go with Evan Graham's Smartworks program. I am a novice trainer and I like that Graham is readily available to answer questions and I like how he explains things in detail.

I was going to get the Smartworks basics package or possibly the bonus basics package (includes the puppy program). While doing some research on puppy training programs, I found other options such as Merten's Sound Beginnings and Hillman's Training a Retriever Puppy. I read a lot of people bragging on Hillman's puppy program. How does it differ from other well known puppy programs like Graham's and Merten's? And why such a price difference? Graham's puppy DVD is around $30, Hillman's is around $130.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,224 Posts
Bill's program it top notch! Personally after viewing all of them and implementing the Hilmann approach, you can't find a better process.

·
Registered
5,248 Posts
Graham's puppy DVD is around $30, Hillman's is around $130.

Thanks
This I can tell you. The Smartwork Puppy Program is just that; a puppy program designed for starting puppies at 7 weeks of age, and prepping them through their first (appox.) 6 months. That is the point at which my program for most dogs would have them begin formal Basics. In contrast Hillman's begins as a puppy course, but goes on across a much greater continuum of time and basic work in a format of a sort of daily jounal about a certain pup. Different, good material, but structured unlike most.

Consider the course of information you relate to well, and can put to work effectively.

EvanG

·
Registered
5,252 Posts