RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a 8 month old female lab who has got me stumped. I'm a first time dog trainer so I need help.

I am following the SmartWork program. She made it through the puppy program and obedience fine. She picked up on the first stages of force fetch very quickly. By the end of the second session she was actively reaching for the bumper to turn off the ear pinch.

The transition to the floor was slower, but I think that was my fault wanting to move too fast after the great start. We got that taken care of and moved to walking fetch. (I collar conditioned as recommended in the SmartFetch DVD as well.)

The first couple days of walking fetch outside went fine. She was diving for the bumper on command. I didn't want to go too fast so I slowed down and took a couple extra days on walking fetch.

I am currently starting a three bumper mini pile and this seems to have her stumped, so I took away the other two and just have a single bumper about two to three feet in front of her. When I command fetch she looks confused and may wander out to the bumper and pick it up or may not, wether I force with a collar or use no force. If I force with an ear pinch instead of the collar she dives on the bumper as soon as I pinch.

When we are just marking there is no force, she retrieves like a champ! She runs hard and hits the bumper so hard it makes me proud.

Did I screw up the transition to collar force, or is she just reacting poorly to pressure? She is very soft and will try to quit if she feels too much pressure FYI.

HELP!

·
Registered
5,252 Posts