RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Took my 18mo BLF out for her first duck hunt yesterday. She did great, I was very impressed overall. She knew what she was there to do and loved doing it. Our issue was calling her off 2 different marks where cripples went down in some really sticky stuff and must've buried themselves good. Ducks were still flying and I wanted her back in the hide. Well she would NOT come back without a bird. Had to throw one from the pile to convince her to do so. She's collar conditioned and I've not had a problem in any training situation with recall. I didn't want to correct her for hunting, especially in the water, yet moving forward I not sure how to fix the problem. She is sensitive and doesn't always have a lot of confidence so forcing her to give up on a hunt is a major concern. Any advice is appreciated as I'm new to all this.

·
Registered
4,852 Posts
They figure it out. You did the right thing. If CC has been done why not a here, nick, here? Hunting situation can be dangerous and here and "no bird" should be respected

Reactions: saltgrass

·
Registered
3,272 Posts