He was called back to second series, thanks for your comments.
Obviously these judges called the dog back. May not happen with every pair of judges. I saw a derby dog run straight over an old fall of the short bird but continue on to the long gun in a not-so-tight double. Dog never put its nose down and was called back. Talked to one of the judges of that test and he said if the handler wanted to let his dog do that, he'd call it back. He did not view it as a switch, which is mandatory elimination from the stake. I agree with that decision.
As a judge, I had a handler (1st or second derby he had run) go to the 4th probably winning the trial. He sent is dog for the go bird, dog swam about half way across pond and turned left to go pin the long bird (only dog to get it without a hunt). Dog came back and the handler started to pull out his lead. I told him whoa, put that lead up and go get the other bird. Of course his dog was now confused by the delay or maybe he had burned up his line to the go bird. Tried to send twice and dog would not go. Handler not knowing the rule for a switch likely cost hom a win and surely cost hom a placement.