RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this world, and especially new to the world of hunt tests. I handled in my second hunt test this weekend, the Tennessee River test. Maggie and I passed our first test, Seasoned at Southern Flight, and I thought we passed this one... turns out we failed.

Rather than complain about failing, I wanted to ask some of the experienced guys if the conditions of this test, as well as the judging, were normal. The judge, in my test, was a friend of mine who lives in the area. I'm certainly not blaming or blasting, just trying to get my bearings straight.

Here are the details I thought perhaps questionable:

land -
12-24" cover (grass) over entire test
go bird approximately 80 yards (across small valley)
25-30mph winds (blowing this speed before test was set up)
50yard blind on side of hill with 25mph cross wind
diversion bird thrown in direct path of dog returning from blind blind

water -
blind was a "down the bank" at 50 yards. Extreme angle on entry and dog must stay 5-15 feet from slightly curved bank on left to reach the blind, with a 25mph cross wind left-to-right.

I thought these may be a little much for seasoned, I was just wondering the opinion of some more experienced hunt test handlers/judges? 18 of 36 dogs passed, 18 failed.

My dog was flawless on the walk-up, stepped on the land marks, ignored the diversion (that nearly landed on her face), and completed the water marks with no issue (swam 20ft. left of the memory water (60-70 yard swim) and caught scent of the bird). No handling on any marks.

My problem was the blind. I had seen 5 dogs fail on the land blind by falling to the right (down the hill) and refusing a left-over cast (up hill/into wind). My dog did the same thing, so after 4 refusals (back instead of over) I called her in and re-sent her. She lined it on the second attempt, with one accepted left/over cast.