RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently titled my dog at the seasoned level and would like to do the same at the finished level. I am a solo trainer and this is the first HT dog I have trained. Could some of you folks give me some insight as to what was the biggest hurdles you faced in moving up and what would the pro's suggest that I really work on. Any and all input is appreciated

·
Registered
813 Posts
I think the biggest problem most Seasoned handlers have (from the judges perspective) is they need to tighten up their blinds NO HUNT'EM UPS IN FINISHED. Blow your whistle thats what it was made for.

This all assumes that the dog can mark and run a decent blind.

·
Registered
47 Posts
What Ken said, and line manners!

Hopefully you have kept them pretty tight so far, it is a lot easier to demand this from the beginning. But either way, tighten them up now. You said you train solo, but you'll want to do lots of honoring.

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
Ken and Wingshooter are both right. I would add that you need to train on alot of concept. Train in as many different types of terrain as you can. Train on different marking setups, blinds with suction, do inline marks, over and unders, and lots of drills.

·
Registered
868 Posts
I agree with everything said so far. You need to have a dog you would enjoy hunting in any situation hence what Steve said.
An analogy, in Seasoned it’s like shooting a shotgun as long as your pretty close your probably OK in Finished it’s more like shooting a rifle you have to be precise.

Line manners
Tight blinds
Precise marking
No switching

Train at twice the max distances remember the wipe out birds (a lot of variety) throw the diversion where it almost hits the dog.

Steve, ya'll going to Alamo next month?

·
Registered
1,658 Posts