RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
593 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a new trainer I realize theres a little bit of thought that goes into planning and setting up marks for your dogs. Various factors that cause marks to be easy,difficult, fair, learning experiences etc. (wind, terrain)

to date most of my mark training has been hap hazardly throwing marks all over the place, and to be honest I mostly just consider how tall the grass is.

Hoping a few of the more experienced folks on here might be able to offer a few pointers on factors to consider when setting up marks.

·
Registered
7,657 Posts

·
Registered
5,252 Posts
Get Mike Lardy's Total Retriever Marking and subscribe to Dennis Voigt's Retrievers ONLINE.

Lardys TRM has excellent information on building marking concepts. How to set them up, how various factors affect the difficulty of marks, and how to run them. What to do and what not to do in order of throws, etc...

Retrievers ONLINE is the single best source of information on retriever training basr none. Retrievers ONLINE has articles of covering everything to do with the dog games but I really like the articles on marking set ups for training. If you read a few issues of Retrievers ONLINE you'll get countless ideas on how to set up quality marks that teach the dog how to deal with various concepts.

·
Registered
48 Posts
I agree Lardy's has some excellent info on building on marking concepts. You might even consider looking into a local AKC or HRC club to help with the marking aspects. There seem to always be a knowledgible group of guys around the clubs!

·
Registered
1,066 Posts