RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

· Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'll start by saying I'm new to training and am currently working with my first lab. She is 15 months old and weighs in at 46# as of last week at her vet visit. I didn't expect her to be that small at all. I got her primary as a hunting dog and 90% of the bird hunting we do is for geese. This past weekend was the first weekend of our early goose season and she got her first taste of goose hunting. Needless to say, she definitely had the deer in the headlights look when she got out to the first one and realized how big it was. I ended up walking out to pick up the birds. I then proceeded to just toss the one goose and try to teach her "the game." She figured out what I wanted but still struggled to pick them up and hold the weight. I guess my question is how to go about getting her use to carrying the geese. Do I continue the simple marks until she figures it out on her own or go back to hold with a goose. I'm leaning towards the simple marks to keep it more "fun" but I don't want her to develop any bad habits either. I kept three whole birds to use before our next hunt.

A little training background: she spent 6 months with a HT pro last winter and got her JH before coming home in May. She's been through FF, CC, FTP, double T, and we're currently working on swim-by. Also, for what it's worth, I was really happy with her steadiness in her blind during both hunts. Two of us went out Saturday and she never broke. Then four went on Monday and we had a flock of 15 land right in front of the blinds 10 minutes before shooting time and she never whined or broke at all.

· Registered
756 Posts
Shoot smaller geese lol

But seriously work on "hold" and "fetch" and help her learn where to hold them.