RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, the sassy golden critter is about 4 months old.

Having never previously experienced the pleasure of owning a retriever, I thought I'd offer some observations - just in case there is someone like me out there who is on the fence about what breed of critter to choose for one of their kiddos.

Disclaimer: I am an amateur. My observations are based on personal experience and with a single dog and may not necessarily apply to any other critter within the bandana wearing community. I know far less about dogs than everyone else here. I hope my words bring a smile or provide someone with knowledge for which they are searching.

01. "OMG! Your puppy is soooo cute! Can I pet her?"

Yes, all puppies are cute. But God had a great day when he created the Golden. Living in a college town, when we take the pup for walks out and about, I can't tell you how many "Look at the puppieeeeee!" squeals have echoed through the street. Everyone from young kids through and including really mean looking bikers seems to melt when they see the pup. If the Whos in Whoville still had trouble with the Grinch, a Golden pup would make his heart grow 6 sizes. Pup seems to know how to approach people and sit at their feet in order to be petted. My daughter has been told countless times how lucky she is for owning such a pup. I haven't seen my daughter smile so much in years. I wouldn't trade that for anything!

02. Prey drive...it is in there.