RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I am pretty new to the whole forum concept as well as raising a puppy to be a well mannered dog, but I know you all have been in in my shoes before so I am hoping y'all have tried and true tips to pass along:)

I am a new Chesapeake Bay Retriever owner. My little Charlie is 5months old and so brilliant and has so much potential, my issue is that I have never trained a puppy before so I am stumbling my way through this. we have a few things to work on with Charlie such as; Food aggression/Toy aggression, basic obedience training, Car sickness, Cat chasing, and eventually training her to Bird hunt. She is very treat motivated and I've taught her to "sit", "lay down" and were working on "come". I would love any tips you have on ways to combat the aggression, its top priority for me to correct.

Also im just wondering if anyone else has experienced their pup being "grumpy" and "grumbly" if you kneel or sit down next to the dog while they are laying down? Charlie gets grumbly if you pet here around 7:30pm and I am not sure if its a breed/dog trait or if she is being aggressive with me.

p.s.
Charlie is a love bug and I am not afraid she will ever bite me, but I don't want to get to the point that I am afraid. We purchased her from a breeder and from what I could tell she seemed like a nice decent woman who wouldn't mistreat her dogs.

p.s.s. Here is my little CharlieBug in all of her goofy glory!!

IMG_0108.jpg IMG_0001.jpg

·
Registered
69 Posts
I would look up clubs in your area (Hunting Retriever Club, American Kennel Club or North American Hunting Retriever Association) and see if you could team up with someone else that has a Chessie or has trained with them before.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! I unfortunately live about 4 hrs from any close city that has a club. one of the drawbacks about living in a small town.

·
Registered