RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, with COVID having me working remotely for the last year and already being in the consulting feed, added to the need for my mother in law to need our help on a daily basis we are fast tracking our search for new property with dog training and equine use in mind. From those of you who have gone down the path of building a training property have you found a range of the best suitable size? I am sure that more is always better but I have seen some beautiful training facilities on only 20 acres and have seen others on well over 500 acres. We are targeting 50-100acres preferably. One nice tech pond and a swim by area would more than suffice

My biggest question relates to building a pond. I have read many threads here about test holes and engineering surveys etc prior to developing the approach to build a pond. I am a construction manager by trade so very familiar with soil reports, hydrology studies, soil boring etc. Though to do this, you either A) need a property owner willing to let you perform this work B) the property owner already has performed these tests themselves or C) Buy the property at risk and see what you find. With that said, is it best to look to purchase a property that already contains a water source (pond, creek) and simply expand upon the existing or use the existing to supply water to a new pond? Is working with the NRCS something I should look further into? I have talked greatly with Ducks Unlimited and Delta Waterfowl about building training ponds as part of a wetland habitat improvement and seemed like grant money will be limited and my best bet would hopefully be to find a developer who needs to perform wildlife replenishment programs for developing land that was a wetland habitat. If I am lucky enough to get a grant or any assistance that is great, but I am not expecting much, especially for a pond for training use.