RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
6,833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
We are well into the fall migration of North American Hummingbirds. Pretty much all of the hummingbirds that use the Central Flyway funnel down to the Coastal Bend region of Texas. As they attempt to fatten up and wait for a good north wind to help propel them in their (unbelievable) flight across the Gulf of Mexico to the Yucatan Peninsula, they tend to pile up. Some people are blessed with hundreds in their yards. We don't have that many, but we have a pretty good swarm. Here is a video. Hope y'all enjoy it. This only lasts a week or two most years and then they are gone. (be sure that your speakers are on)

·
Registered
10,863 Posts
We had the swarm in N Central Texas and it ended about 2 weeks ago, now a few migrant stragglers. I see that you also have The Best One Hummingbird feeder from Poteet TX. I love those tiny birds, I have been feeding them for 20 years. It amazes me that they survive, they migrate solitarily for a thousand miles sometimes over the Gulf of Mexico. I leave my feeders up for stragglers until mid October, we have seen an increased number the last couple of days. Thanks for the video! Heartwarming and uplifting!

·
Registered
3,689 Posts
Gone now, but a great "decompressing" treat from our training boss getting our Sunday group close and pretty personal as the Rubies engaged in hummingbird dogfights over an array of feeders.

Bird Water Liquid Pollinator Plant

Plant Bird Botany Terrestrial plant Tree

MG

·
Registered
3,950 Posts
Hummers are one of my favorite birds. They have been hanging out here as well - we have 4 Rose Of Sharon trees they fight over, plus one feeder. Fiesty little things. Definitely making their way south. I only wish we had more varieties. We have the ruby throated one. A friend of mine had a leucistic (diulte :) ) hummer at her feeders for a few days. Got some pretty decent photos of it.