RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
593 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are planning to enter a CKC WCI test in a couple months. Its pretty basic, a land double (75 yards), a water double (50 yards), and a honour. Could sombody offer up a few pointers on training for the honouring? Unfortunately I train alone 99.7% of the time.

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
Try and get some group sessions in. You can make it work if you have two dogs.

·
Registered
389 Posts
If you train alone, it will be pretty tough. I'm a newbie to all this, so I am sure there are some guys who can give you better advice... but here is what I would do:

Toss out a bumper with your dog at heel, have your dog sit, and then walk out and get the bumper yourself while the dog sits. Correct the dog if she moves (and replace the dog to the original position) and then continue to walk out and get the bumper. Start small, and eventually move out. Once she is trustworthy on this, begin to throw bumpers while she is in a remote sit and then go get them yourself as well. Be sure to reward her obedience with some retrieves, and do not give her a retrieve if she does not sit through you picking up the bumper and returning.

To be honest, we do honor work at the end of every training session. Multiple dogs stand by handlers as well all throw bumpers, and we send one dog at a time. Inexperienced dogs are placed on lead until their turn to retriever, and eventually the lead comes off. After doing this for several months, I am confident my dog won't break on an honor. Training with others will be extremely helpful, if not necessary.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Newf, I'm just crawling out of my hole to talk dogs for a minute. Hope you don't mind my rambling on your thread. The training alone topics are always interesting to me. Been there...