RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie at this game, so bear with me. At training yesterday, I was told it was a big no no to send a dog on a blind with their name, you only should do that on a mark. You need to command "back" when running a blind.

The reasoning was so the dog knows that they might be handled to the bird. I find that faulty reasoning. I think, to the dog, when ever they are sent, they are going for a bird, whether it is a mark or a blind. So, it makes no difference to them what you say.

I ran my young dog on a short blind with her name and then put her up. Brought her back out and sent with the command "back", and she did the exercise and picked up the bird with out any confusion. Which tells me, it doesn't matter what word you use.

Can anyone explain this to me?

Kathleen

·
Registered
12,560 Posts
and some people send on both marks and blinds with the word "Back" so you are right. ether using the dogs name on both or back on both is personal preference. And if you are consistent in your training the dogs get it fine. You could send your dog on "Pencil Whip!" for example and as long as you were consistent it would be fine with the dog, and funny as heck for the gallery! :lol: :lol:

·
Registered
2,869 Posts
what if you are running a double or triple.They shoot off the triple then want you to run the blind before you pick up the birds.If you turn and say your dogs name is he going to turn and go pick up the marks he just watched go down or will you be able to run him on a blind several hundred yards long right up the middle between 2 of the marks without your dog picking up one of the marks.You teach "back" to pile and force to pile by saying BACK. Dogs need to know whether they are going on a mark or blind.If your dog is going on a mark hopefully you wont need to blow a whistle and handle him but you will need to on a blind.

·
Registered
108 Posts