RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am just about to get a new Black Lab. This is what i want out of the dog I would like to hunt with her both for waterfowl and upland birds. Also she is going to be a family dog. I have been looking at different training books I read the James Lamb free book it seems that some of those training techniques are outdated. I have been looking at two other books i was wondering what some of your opinions and experiences were with using them. The two I am looking at are The 10 Minute retriever, and Tom Dokken's Retriever Training. Will these books help me get her where she needs to be to be good hunting companion and a well mannered family dog? Which one would you recommend?

·
Registered
44 Posts
Buy Fowl Dawgs 1 thru 4. They are videos by Rick Stawski. I was a newbie and followed them and I found them to be very helpful. Good Luck and have fun!

·
Registered
412 Posts
I'm still a newbie and started fowl dawgs with our 5 1/2 month old Chessy. Seems very straight forward.

·
Registered
623 Posts
i was a newbie also..Jackie Mertens Sound Beginnings is a must...very easy to follow and great info..as an amateur was told smartworks and followed until i ran out of time with work and had to send her to a trainer. very easy to follow..get the entire set...these both show the process of "new" dogs working and show "real" mistakes...alot of others show seasoned dogs going thru basics....

·
Registered
5,252 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts