RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, forgive me a bit as I am a UK trainer, but I am interested in how you guys train and run blinds. Always looking to learn more and take on board fresh ideas.

I had a look at setting up some blinds along the lines shown in this diagram: (drat, can't post link as not allowed to yet, but it was on retrieversonline - favourite setups, where the blinds were set out at approx 220 metres) but at a rather reduced scale. ie. Long blinds were at 120 metres max, thru long grass, as I just don't have the space to lay out much more.

Question: when you set this scenario up, do you expect the dog to run all the way to the long blind on that initial cast/sendaway, or are you stopping and correcting any line deviation, or re-starting the sendaway to get there in one? What is expected in the USA?

Here, 200+ metres would be an exceptionally long 'open' retrieve and the norm would be more at the 80-150 metre mark.

Just curious really. I expect my dogs to take and hold that initial line and go straight to the area, without having to stop and re-direct though.

·
Registered
1,803 Posts
Well, in a perfect world, a handler would line his/her dog up, send it, and the dog would take a perfectly straight line to the blind location, ignoring all factors and suction along the way. That would be "lining the blind". However, most of the time we are faced with less than a perfect situation, as dogs will be dogs and they will succumb to factors and suction along the way that will cause them to deviate from the perfect line. Hence, most of the time, we are stopping the dog and handling it enroute to the blind.

We always expect the dogs to take and hold the initial line, but they frequently do not do that..

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·