RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time ever using a e-collar. I purchased the tri-tronics flyway g3 ext and my lab is 6.5 months is it to early to start? I tried cc today but she didn't like it at all I tried the lowest and different intensity like the DVD says that you are given. But my e-collar don't have the continue stimulation at low high and medium stimulations it just has high or low medium and high momentary stimulation. I have fowl dawgs series and Evan Graham's smart work program. Any advice? She knows what basic commands are such as sit, here, kennel, and heel and down but they are not instant response yet. Is e-collar recommended or should I just train her like I been doin with check. Ord choker collar and heeling stick?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's what I'm leaning more towards. How do I get her to retriever better on land she wonders off sometimes do you force fetch or anything the traditional way?

·
Registered
7,272 Posts
Of course she didn't like it. Ecollar conditioning is not fun for the dogs. It has been a long time since I viewed the Tritronics dvd but as I recall I didn't think that much of it.
There should be instructions for cc on Fowl Dogs and Smartworks. Some advice, I would pick one or the other and follow it.

I have the Flyway also and I cc all my dogs with it. Do you have a friend that is an amateur or professional trainer? Do you belong to a retriever club? These are excellant sources of assistance. There are the "no collar" folks and the "collar" folks. I am one of the collar folks and they are the majority now, IMHO. I would strongly recommend that you ecollar condition your dog and use it as demostrated in the training program you select.