RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all this is my first post and many more to come. My name is Jeremy and im a quack head. I have a new addition "Milo" to the family and want to do the best I can for him. I have some experience training but not on the level of testing, basically just duck dogs that bring me my bird and sleep by my feet.
I lost a great retriever last year that went downhill fast. He was deaf at 5 and blind at 8 and died of liver failure at 10. He was a hell of a dog and I feel he and I were really cheated out of several years that should have been his prime. Anyways my pup is 13 weeks now he's a yellow Lab and a great prospect.
What I want to know from guys that have trained several dogs is what to avoid. What should I not do with respect to all things training, dog owning, health etc. What did you learn the hard way that will help others. For instance I feel that if I had spent the money on quality nutrition my past dog might have been in better shape, but who knows.
Im all ears....or eyes
Thanks

·
Registered
966 Posts
3 rules i live by is,

1. Go when i say Go.
2.Dont come back without a bird.
3.Never give a command you cant enforce.

Just remember that pup will grow up and will do whatever you want, and will want to please you, So when you train him use the dogs wanting to please you to your advantage with 10 praises to 1 correction, and you will have a super buddy for his life......

·
Registered
2,335 Posts
Enjoy your pup and let him enjoy you. Have a lot of patience in training, things will go wrong sometimes. As you are evaluating him he is evaluating you. Let him know you are fair and level headed.

Make training fun. That's hard to do for some people. Don't make training something he dreads.