RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know you shouldn't try to follow a schedule or compare dogs, and that you should train your dog as he progresses individually, BUT I would love some thoughts, opinions and you guys' past experiences when your pup was 17 wo. I'm just looking for ideas of things to add or change what i'm doing now.

I'm new to training and have been working with my Boykin pup in hopes of getting a serviceable retriever. He's super smart and is doing very well in OB. He's done a few marks occasionally and done pretty good, but really have been focusing on OB until his teeth are in. I know he needs more marks but a work schedule and neighborhood living cuts those back some. After the teeth are in I am planning on FF and increasing marks after that.

Thanks

·
Registered
5,252 Posts
You asked so...

My pups were running marks and not doing formal obedience until about 6 months old. Unless you have a very wild and unruly pup, I think your focus on obedience is not the right path. But it depends on your pups drive. The higher drive the more OB, the lower the drive, the less OB.

My next pup, I'll be following the Hillman puppy dvd. Bill's method teaches getting the puppy wild for the retrieve, then balance with walking on lead and sitting. Before anything else, the pup should be wild for the retrieve.

·
Registered
2,333 Posts
More marks, less obedience.

It's pretty easy to get them to stop...Go is the hard part.

Try doing easy very obvious sight blinds. Get them excited and looking for something when they come to the line.

·
Registered
958 Posts
at 17 weeks i was trying to keep mine from eating everything in my yard and basement and just throwing marks till he got tired enough to sleep through the night.

·
Registered
9,360 Posts
Had a good understanding the difference between a fun bumper and a mark.