RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

yellow, chocolate, or black

1 - 20 of 53 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I am new to this but I am looking for a hunter and a good companion, I love the looks of the chocolates, but I want to make sure I get a good hunter. so I am looking to all of the experts out there to enlighten me on the pros and cons of each color(if any) thanks
Chris

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Don't believe all the theories you hear about blacks being the best, chocolates being weak, etc. The bottom line is there are good dogs of all colors. The only reason there are more champion blacks is that there are more blacks out there. If you look at shear numbers, there are just as many good yellows and chocolates, especially now that they have been bred by quality breeders who have selected out the qualities and perpetuated them in lines combined with other quality lines.

·
Registered
5 Posts
it's all in the breeding and raising of the pup - Color is really just personal preferrence - You can get all three colors in the same litter... so in other words...color doesn't dictate how good/bad the pup will be

·
Registered
3,001 Posts
There can be good dogs in any color.
The problem with many chocolates,is that they are bred for color only.
When you breed for one trait primarily, you are going to lose the other traits neccesary.
If you are certainyou want one color over another, make sure htat the breeder has done all the clearances on parents, preferably both parents are active working dogs(titles are nice) and can prove what they say. A lot of people say "Both Parents Hunt"- well, they may and they may not.
I think your odds are better in this order- Black, Yellow and then chocolate. The gene pools are larger for the first two.

·
Registered
395 Posts