RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this will sound like a loaded QT. I have a 6month oldBLM. and have been through the hillman dvd. Pup is doing very well. I want to move on and need advice on the Lardy or smartworks program This is my first time training for hunt tests and hunting I have had other labs but want to do it right this time .. Its not about what costs what but what works you get what you pay for . Folks that have used both or either I'd like to hear from you I have the time to send with the pup this time just need direction Thanx so much DWG

·
Registered
227 Posts
I've followed my own mix of training methods, but I've recently bought Smartworks and I like it as a sequential program.

·
Registered
340 Posts
You may want to do a search. There are a number of threads which offer opinions of the various training programs. I've found them helpful.

Personally, I love any program with a DVD. It is so hard for our pup to read from a manual but she loves watching DVDs. I just wish I knew how many times she's supposed to watch Sound Beginnings before she moves on to another program.

I'm going track down that training program with a pole. I've heard good things about it. I just hope it doesn't involve her spinning around the thing. I'm tired of tying knots in that bandana to hold it in place as it is. I feel like a boy scout with all these knots. :rolleyes:

·
Registered
2,342 Posts
THIS ONE! or that one is good too. Don't forget to check out the other one too!

Sorry couldn't resist but that's how the battle seems to happen in my mind lol

I'm doing Hillmann Puppy too, but am seriously considering going to Farmer/Aycock for his Basics afterwards. I like what Hillmann does with pups, and but also like what Farmer/Aycock or known for when it comes to the all important Foundation of training and getting it right.